Hem SAQ Forum SAQ Transmissions receiving SAQ signal

  • Detta ämne är tomt.
  • Skapare
    Ämne
  • #8944 Svara
    Tory W
    Gäst

    Hello,

    So, I have a good quality active mini-whip that will tune down into the 17 KHz range, and I also have an SDR that the mini-whip is connected to.
    I’m wondering what exactly I need to do to tune in to your transmission. I have tried several times in the past to get the signal, but all I ever
    seem to get is static. I know I’m listening at the proper time because I can also tune in via a websdr site, and I can hear your transmission that way.
    However, my own attempts to receive your transmission on my own equipment seems impossible. Not sure what I’m doing wrong.Perhaps someone can offer some advice. Maybe my antenna isn’t grounded enough. I don’t know. I can get other signals, such as WWVB at 60 KHz, so I know the antenna works. Just can’t get your transmission.

Visar 1 svarstråd
  • Författare
    Svar
    • #8947 Svara
      Juan M0WWA
      Gäst

      In order to attempt to receive a SAQ Grimeton Transmission in California you need a very very big antenna and a very good receive on 17.2kHz. It is not an ease challenge. As a reference, SAQ was received in Granby QC Canada (FN35RK) on 28 June 2015, 1,400 miles

      Transmission schedule for SAQ Grimeton Transmission on July 4th, 2021:

      Startup and tuning at 10:30 CET (08:30 UTC) with a transmission of a message at 11:00 CET (09:00 UTC)

      Startup and tuning at 13:30 CET (11:30 UTC) with a transmission of a message at 14:00 CET (12:00 UTC)

      73 de Juan, M0WWA

    • #8945 Svara
      François D.
      Gäst

      Hello, Tory,

      You do not say from which part of the world you are writing, but your allusion to WWWB suggests you might be in the US.

      I find SAQ is not easy to copy in North America. Paramount is taming local noise, from neighbors or your own residence.

      Our team drives to a rural location half a kilometer (500 yards) away from electrical utility lines and houses.

      Have a look at the ”Listener Reports” to see what others are using and how they are faring.

      François
      Bromont QC Canada

      • #8946 Svara
        Tory W
        Gäst

        Sorry or that omission. Yes, I’m in California, USA.

        What time is the transmission scheduled for in UTC time?

Visar 1 svarstråd
Svar till: receiving SAQ signal
Information om dig: