The weather on Alexanderson Day on July 4th 2021 was sunny with temperatures around 25 C. Some approaching thunder storms, could be seen on the horizon. For the first time since the pandemic started, we were able to have a limited, seated audience in the transmitter hall – fantastic!

The 11:00 CET (09:00 UTC) transmission

The first transmission was initiated at 10.30 CET (08.30 UTC) with the startup and tuning of the Alexanderson alternator. A message was sent out at 11.00 CET (09.00 UTC)

The team from the Alexander association at the 11:00 transmission:
Operations manager & guide: Fredrik Wiklund
Operator: Anders Törblad
Telegraphist: Kai Sundberg
Mobile camera: Thomas Alexandersson
Video technician: Janne Severinsson
Mentor: Jan Steinbach
Assistants: Anders Börjesson and Jan-Åke Gylling

The event was also broadcasted live on our YouTube channel:

The 14:00 CET (12:00 UTC) transmission

The second transmission was initiated at 13.30 CET (11.30 UTC) with the startup and tuning of the Alexanderson alternator. A message was sent out at 14.00 CET ( 12.00 UTC)

The team from the Alexander association at the 14:00 transmission:
Operations manager & guide: Anders Börjesson
Operator: Jan-Åke Gylling
Telegraphist: Kai Sundberg
Mobile camera: Thomas Alexandersson
Video technician: Janne Severinsson
Mentor: Jan Steinbach
Assistants: Fredrik Wiklund and Anders Törblad

The transmitted message

CQ CQ CQ DE SAQ SAQ SAQ =
THIS IS GRIMETON RADIO STATION/SAQ IN A TRANSMISSION USING
THE ALEXANDERSON 200 KW ALTERNATOR ON 17.2 KHZ. =
TODAY WE ARE CELEBRATING THE 25TH ANNIVERSARY
OF THE FOUNDATION OF THE ALEXANDER ASSOCIATION
AND NOMINATION OF THE GRIMETON RADIO STATION
AS A NATIONAL LISTED BUILDING, ONE IMPORTANT STEP
TOWARDS THE UNESCO WORLD HERITAGE LIST
EIGHT YEARS LATER. =
SIGNED: WORLD HERITAGE GRIMETON RADIO STATION AND THE ALEXANDER-GRIMETON VETERANRADIOS VAENNER ASSOCIATION. + =
NB! FOR QSL INFO PLEASE READ OUR WEBSITE:
WWW.ALEXANDER.N.SE + =
DE SAQ SAQ SAQ @

Listeners’ reports

From the Alexander association, we are overwhelmed by all the fantastic feedback we have received from listeners and viewers, from all around the world. We would like to say THANK YOU to all of you for all your kind messages and reports. Until today (July 18th) we have received over 500 listener reports – incredible! A complete listeners summary report will be published in early August.

Interactive listeners’ map

Below is a preliminary interactive map with most of the reports we have received so far. The map will be updated over time.

Click here to open the map in full screen mode.

SK6SAQ Amateur Radio Station

On Alexanderson Day, the condx was not optimal but the radio amateurs reached 169 QSO:s with 21 countries, mostly from Europe and a few from the USA. Two stations was in operation with both SSB and CW traffic. Thank’s to all participants out there!
OM’s at the SK6SAQ station was SM7BUA Mats, SM6DOI Staffan, SM6CPY Carl, SM6CQU Kjell, SM6DQO Sten-Erik and SM6LWH Hans.